Everyday Rather Live in Classic Eras

The full shortlist of 2014 British Composer Awards

Instrumental Solo or Duo Solitude by Rebecca Saunders; Sonata after William Byrd’s Haec Dies by John McCabe; The Wild Reeds by Judith Weir

Chamber Danaё by Martin Iddon; Hauptstimme by David Fennessy;Renewal by Luke Bedford

Vocal Flodden by Sally Beamish; Songs from the same Earth by Harrison Birtwistle; Totentanz by Thomas Adès

Choral Live Music Sculpture 3 by Samuel Bordoli; Night Flight by Cecilia McDowall; The Moth Requiem by Harrison Birtwistle

Wind Band or Brass Band Journey of the Lone Wolf by Simon Dobson; Kjeden by Paul McGhee; Th’owfen Raconteurs by Lucy Pankhurst

Orchestral Frieze by Mark-Anthony Turnage; Joybox by John McCabe; Near Midnight by Helen Grime

Stage Works Captain Blood’s Revenge by Lynne Plowman; Dart’s Love by Kerry Andrew; IGNIS by Jon Opstad

Liturgical Chaconne for Jonathan Harvey by Ed Hughes; Hodie nobis de coelo pax by Paul Ayres; The Portsmouth Service by Jonathan Dove

Sonic Art Chorus by Ray Lee; On Air by Caroline Devine; Public Address by Tom White

Contemporary Jazz Composition Hocus Pocus by Julian Argüelles; Tarab Cuts by John Butcher; The Study of Touch by Django Bates

Community or Educational Project Dark Clouds are Smouldering into Red by James Redwood; Woodwose: A Community Chamber Opera by Kerry Andrew

International Award Circle Map by Kaija Saariaho; Epigrams by Elliott Carter; Visions and Revisions by Christopher Trapani

Total 35 works that will compete for prizes at this year’s British Composer Awards. The awards ceremony takes place at Goldsmiths’ Hall, London, on December 2 and will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3 on December 6.