Everyday Rather Live in Classic Eras

The full list of 2014 British Composer Awards

Last night the British Composer Awards were held at Goldsmiths’ Hall in London. Nine of the winners in 13 categories had never won a British Composer Award before, and Sir Harrison Birtwistle entered the record books by becoming the most shortlisted and awarded composer in the history of the Awards, he won the Vocal category for his Songs from the Same Earth.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Instrumental Solo or Duo

Solitude by Rebecca Saunders


Danaё by Martin Iddon


Songs from the same Earth by Harrison Birtwistle


Night Flight by Cecilia McDowall

Wind Band or Brass Band

Journey of the Lone Wolf by Simon Dobson


Frieze by Mark-Anthony Turnage

Stage Works

Dart’s Love by Kerry Andrew


Chaconne for Jonathan Harvey by Ed Hughes

Sonic Art

Public Address by Tom White

Contemporary Jazz Composition

The Study of Touch by Django Bates

Community or Educational Project

Woodwose: A Community Chamber Opera by Kerry Andrew

Making Music Award

Loch Awe by Steve Forman

International Award

Circle Map by Kaija Saariaho

Harrison Birtwistle
Mark-Anthony Turnage
Kaija Saariaho